August 1, 2014

DEADLINE: AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

 The American Association for the Advancement of Science awards recognize outstanding reporting for a general audience and honor individuals for their coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics. Categories include print, broadcast, online and children's science news. Cash prizes. Deadline: Aug 1st.

June 1, 2012

5th Annual Peter Benchley Ocean Awards

The Blue Frontier Campaign's 5th Annual Peter Benchley Ocean Awards and Dinner in San Francisco will feature interview and press opportunities. The event will take place from 7:00-9:30 p.m.

April 30, 2012

DEADLINE: Canada's Next Green Journalist

This annual competition, presented by Young Reporters for the Environment, recognizes inspired stories, photos and videos about local environmental issues from 12-17 and 18-21 year olds. Win a camera, a pocket camcorder, a laptop, or cash for your school.

March 15, 2014

DEADLINE: Knight-Risser Prize for Western Environmental Journalism

Journalists working for U.S., Canadian or Mexican newspapers, magazine, broadcast organizations (including cable) or online sites accessible to the general public are eligible to apply, as are freelancers. $5,000 prize. Deadline is March 15, 2014.

May 1, 2012

DEADLINE: AMS Award for Distinguished Science Journalism in the Atmospheric and Related Sciences

This American Meteorological Society Award recognizes outstanding science reporting and writing about scientific discoveries, principles, advances, and impacts in all media outlets including radio, television, newspaper, magazine, and online. Apply by May 1st.

April 30, 2014

DEADLINE EXTENDED: Wildscreen Panda Awards Film Competition

The biennial Wildscreen Film Festival in the UK, October 19-24, 2014, is a celebration of wildlife and environmental filmmaking. To qualify for a Panda award nomination and/or screening, productions must have an aspect of the natural world as the central focus. Submit your entry by April 30th.

March 22, 2013

DEADLINE: AAJA National Journalism Awards

The Asian American Journalists Association is now accepting nominations for the 2013 National Journalism Awards.  Established in 1989, the awards recognize and encourage excellence among journalists and outstanding coverage of Asian American and Pacific Islander issues.

February 7, 2014

DEADLINE: National Academies Communication Awards

The National Academies Keck Futures Initiative will award $20,000 prizes to individuals or teams who have developed creative, original work (book; film/radio/TV; magazine/newspaper; and online) that addresses issues and advances in science, engineering and/or medicine for the general public.

September 8, 2014

DEADLINE: Fund for Investigative Journalism (FIJ) Grants

FIJ encourages applications for investigations of economic inequities and climate change issues, in addition to watchdog reporting within the United States. Reporting for ethnic media is also strongly encouraged. Next deadline is September 8, 2014.

January 6, 2012

DEADLINE: Big Sky International Documentary Pitch Session

The Big Sky Documentary Film Festival is hosting the second annual Big Sky International Documentary Pitch Session on February 23, 2012. The pitch will take place as part of Big Sky Doc Shop (Feb 21-24), a four-day nonfiction industry forum during the ninth annual film festival. A maximum of 15 projects will be accepted to pitch in this session. Submission deadline: January 6, 2012


Subscribe to RSS - Awards