January 6, 2012

DEADLINE: Big Sky International Documentary Pitch Session

The Big Sky Documentary Film Festival is hosting the second annual Big Sky International Documentary Pitch Session on February 23, 2012. The pitch will take place as part of Big Sky Doc Shop (Feb 21-24), a four-day nonfiction industry forum during the ninth annual film festival. A maximum of 15 projects will be accepted to pitch in this session. Submission deadline: January 6, 2012

January 27, 2012

DEADLINE: Funding for Women-Led Projects

The McCormick New Media Women Entrepreneurs program will fund U.S.-based individuals who have original ideas for new Web sites, mobile news services, or other entrepreneurial initiatives. The program will provide $14,000 in funding to each of four women. Projects must launch (at least a live beta) within ten months and must have a plan for continuing after initial funding has ended. Deadline to apply: January 27, 2012.


January 9, 2014

DEADLINE: Canadian Hillman Prize

The Sidney Hillman Foundation awards the Canadian Hillman Prize honouring excellence in journalism in service of the common good. Open to journalists and subjects globally, but content must have been published in Canada. The winner receives $5,000 and travel to both the Canadian and US Prize awards receptions. Deadline: January 9, 2014.

March 16, 2012

DEADLINE: Outdoor Writers Association of America: Youth Writing Contest

To encourage students to sharpen their abilities to communicate the outdoor experience, the OWAA offers the annual Norm Strung Youth Writing Contest. Cash awards for senior (grades 9-12) and junior (grades 6-8) divisions. Deadline: March 16, 2012

February 1, 2014

DEADLINE: Science in Society Journalism Awards

The National Association of Science Writers especially wants to encourage the kind of critical, probing article that would not receive an award from an interest group. Cash prizes. Entries must be postmarked by February 1, 2014.

January 31, 2014

DEADLINE: John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism

This award is given annually to the author of a single newspaper or magazine article, or single-topic series, that makes an exceptional contribution to public understanding of contemporary environmental issues. Cash prize. Deadline is January 31, 2014

January 10, 2014


The annual contest of Investigative Reporters and Editors, Inc. recognizes the best investigative reporting in numerous categories by print, broadcast and online media. Deadline is January 10, 2014.

January 31, 2014

DEADLINE: Hillman Prizes in Journalism

Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation awards the annual Hillman Prizes, honoring journalism that fosters social and economic justice — in service of the common good. $5,000 prizes in six categories. January 31, 2014 deadline.

January 30, 2012

DEADLINE: Grantham Prize for Excellence in Reporting on the Environment

This journalism prize — the largest in North America — honors exemplary reporting on the environment by journalists in the United States and Canada. $75,000 cash award. Deadline for all works (except books) is January 30, 2012.

January 29, 2014

DEADLINE: Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma

The Dart Awards recognize exemplary journalism on the impact of violence, crime, disaster and other traumatic events on individuals, families or communities, focusing on the experience of victims and survivors, and contributing to public understanding of trauma-related issues. Cash prizes. Deadline is January 29, 2014.


Subscribe to RSS - Awards