"Senate Confirms Two Obama Nominees to FERC"

"Norman Bay, Cheryl LaFleur Confirmed at Federal Energy Regulatory Commission"

"WASHINGTON—The Senate on Tuesday confirmed two of President Barack Obama's nominees to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, an agency tasked with regulating the nation's electric grid and other energy infrastructure.

Norman Bay, currently enforcement director at FERC, was confirmed by a vote of 52-45.

Cheryl LaFleur, acting FERC chairman who was first nominated by Mr. Obama as commissioner in 2010, won more support with a vote of 90-7.

The confirmation process of the two nominees was tumultuous by any standard but especially so in this case because FERC traditionally operates with a low profile. The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee barely approved the two nominees last month after Chairman Mary Landrieu (D., La.), negotiated a last-ditch deal to get the pair through."

Amy Harder and Mike Crittenden report for the Wall Street Journal July 15, 2014.


"McConnell to oppose 'anti-coal' energy nominee" (The Hill)

Source: Wall St. Journal, 07/16/2014