Fund for Environmental Journalism

Reporters may apply for support for reporting projects through SEJ's Fund for Environmental Journalism.

SEJ's Fund for Environmental Journalism accepts applications for grants of up to $3,500 to help underwrite environmental reporting projects and entrepreneurial ventures. The deadline for the Summer 2014 cycle is July 15th. Contact Jeanne Scanlon with questions.

The purpose of the FEJ is to provide incentives and support to qualified journalists and news organizations to enhance the quantity and quality of environmental journalism. Read about the origin of the Fund for Environmental Journalism.



Support environmental reporting projects.
Give to the Fund for Environmental Journalism today!



2013: Summer; Winter

2012: Summer; Winter

2011: Summer; Winter

2010: Summer; Winter


Any qualified journalist working independently or on the staff of either a for-profit or non-profit news organization worldwide is eligible to apply for a FEJ grant. SEJ membership is not required, but all applicants must meet SEJ’s eligibility requirements: your work must be in journalism or closely related to journalism, and your responsibilities must not include public relations work on environmental issues or lobbying on environmental issues. If you're not sure, please review SEJ's eligibility requirements.

Grant funds can be used for expenses of a project, but not for time spent doing the project. Examples of eligible expenses include project-related travel, training, research materials, database analysis, environmental testing, and other direct non-personnel costs required for success of the reporting project or entrepreneurial venture. Equipment will not be considered for funding. Funds may not be used to reimburse expenses on a project; only expenses projected to be incurred after receipt of a grant will be considered.

Please read the FEJ Program Guidelines. We urge applicants to pay particular attention to the section titled Criteria for Selection. All applications and supporting materials must be submitted in English.

Summer Cycle: July 15; winners announced mid-September
Winter Cycle: November 15; winners announced mid-January

SEJ Members: Fee waived
Non-members: $40 (Please see below)*


SEJ Member Grant Application Form (free for SEJ members)

Non-member Grant Application Form ($40 application fee applies. See instructions below.) 

* The cost of first-year membership is only $40. Membership includes a year's subscription to SEJ's quarterly magazine, SEJournal, access to the online directory of members, subscription to members-only discussion lists, discounts to SEJ's annual conferences, and more. To join:

1. Apply to be a registered user of SEJ's website. Go to, then click the "Need help?" link in the burgundy bar at the right near the top of the page. Once your user profile has been activated, you can access the online membership application. (New user accounts are usually activated the same day.)

2. Access the online membership application, complete, and click submit. SEJ staff will fast-track your application and, if you are accepted for membership in SEJ, send you the payment link for new members.

You do not have to be a member to apply for a grant from the Fund for Environmental Journalism. The fee for non-members to apply is $40. This may be applied to SEJ membership (complete separate SEJ membership application on the SEJ website); however, if you are not already an approved member of SEJ at the time of application, use the Non-member Grant Application Form.


Support environmental reporting projects.
Give to the Fund for Environmental Journalism today!




Thanks to current generous supporters of the Fund for Environmental Journalism:

Isabel Abrams | Tina Adler | Frank Allen | Michael Ardito | Hal Bernton | Allen Best | Winifred Bird | Kari Birdseye | Madeline Bodin | Jane Braxton Little | Murray Carpenter | Mary Chaffee | Rachel Clark | Jon Cooksey | Hilary Corrigan | Joyce Cutler | Beth Daley | John Daley | Anthony Davis | Daniel Ferber | Sharon Friedman | David Funkhouser | Nancy Gaarder | Daniel Glick | Rachael Gleason | Polita Glynn | Benjamin Goldfarb | Gloria Gonzalez | Ann Graham | Gary Grigsby | Michael Grunwald | Michael Hans | Steve Hansen | Greg Harman | Thomas Hayden | Peggy Heinkel-Wolfe | Joy Horowitz | Hyrum Huskey | Anthony Ingraffea | Bennie Ivory | Ian James | Michael Kodas | Lindsey Konkel | Leia Larsen | David Lawrence | Stuart Leavenworth | Cindy MacDonald | Mark MacIntyre | Barbara Maynard | Patricia McKnight | Olivier Milhomme | Susan Moran | Bernardo Motta | Katherine Murray |  Kristin Ohlson  |  Judy Ostrow | Greg Pasztor | Alison Perkins | Jerry Redfern | Nancy Reist | John Ryan | Molly Samuel | Jeanne Scanlon | Raisa Scriabine | Ron Seely | Susan Sharon | Kate Sheppard | Kelly Slivka | Ron Steffens | Jeffrey Stoub | Dawn Stover | Muriel Strand | Judith Sylvester | Sarah Terry-Cobo | Jonathan Thompson | Tomasz Ulanowski | Lee van der Voo | Christopher Weber | Matthew Wheeland | Clint Wilder | David Williams | Florence Williams | Gary Wilson 

and The Grantham Foundation