Fund for Environmental Journalism

Reporters may apply for support for reporting projects through SEJ's Fund for Environmental Journalism.

SEJ’s Fund for Environmental Journalism invests in top quality public service reporting on environment-related issues, and the journalists who produce it.  FEJ grants support development and dissemination of significant coverage that otherwise could not be completed. 

NOVEMBER 15, 2016 was the DEADLINE for the Winter 2016 round of competition for FEJ grants to journalists and news organizations. Grantees will be notified no later than January 6, 2017 and grants will be paid as soon as possible following agreement on terms of the grant. Go here for guidelines and requirements for eligibility, application, proposal and budget. When you are ready to fill out the form and upload your files, visit the FEJ applications portal.

For the November 15 round, Fund for Environmental Journalism grants up to $5,000 are available only for journalism projects covering one of these two topics:


This opportunity has been made possible by a grant from The Energy Foundation to the Society of Environmental Journalists.


This opportunity has been made possible by a grant from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation.

If your project does not address one of the two designated topics for this round of FEJ competition, please do not apply this time. Your proposal cannot be reviewed or funded.  Coverage project grants from the Fund for Environmental Journalism of the Society of Environmental Journalists can be provided only when opportunities are funded in advance through foundation grants and individual donations. SEJ will announce new categories and new deadlines when new underwriting can be secured. Thanks for your understanding.

The Society of Environmental Journalists actively seeks underwriting for Fund for Environmental Journalism grants to journalists and news organizations that may be focused on particular topic areas. FEJ grantees maintain total editorial control of all coverage that is produced and disseminated.  Donors have no right of review and no influence on editorial content that is made possible in part by their contributions.  All proposals and binding agreements between donors and the Society of Environmental Journalists and between SEJ and grantees of the Fund for Environmental Journalism strictly reinforce this policy of editorial independence.

Fund for Environmental Journalism story project grants 2011 – 2016 have been funded by the Cornell Douglas Foundation, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, Heinz Endowments, Grantham Foundation, Wyss Foundation, and individual members and friends of the Society of Environmental Journalists. Read how the FEJ got started here. Your gift makes a difference!  Please support future rounds of competition by making a donation today.


NOVEMBER 15, 2016, midnight local time was the APPLICATION DEADLINE.

Guidelines can be found here.

TIPS:  Prepare ahead to submit all files in PDF format. Do not exceed maximum word count for narrative and page limit for support documents.

Grantees will be notified no later than January  and grants paid as soon as possible following agreement on terms of the grant. Funds can be used for story expense incurred only after FEJ grantee agreement is signed and returned to SEJ with IRS W-9 tax form.


SEJ Members: Fee waived

Non-members: Fee will be $40 (If you apply and are approved for SEJ membership during the grant application review period, you may apply the fee to first-year membership — also $40. Please note that this is a completely separate application from the grant application.)








SEJ celebrates past grantees!
Please enjoy journalist bios, project descriptions and links to completed work:



The Society of Environmental Journalists is grateful to all generous supporters of the Fund for Environmental Journalism

Providers of Foundation Grants:
Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, Energy Foundation, Grantham Foundation for Protection of the Environment and The Wyss Foundation

Your gift makes a difference!  Please support future rounds of competition by making a donation today.

Individual Supporters:

Isabel Abrams | Tina Adler | Paul Albergo | Frank Allen | Paul Alvarez | Roger Archibald | Michael Ardito | Emilia Askari | Debra Atlas | Roberta Attanasio | Elizabeth Batt | Tristan Baurick | Nancy Bazilchuk | Rachel Becker | Steven Bedard | Bryan Bennica | Hal Bernton | Allen Best | Winifred Bird | Kari Birdseye | Elizabeth F. Boardman | Madeline Bodin | Erika Bolstad | Jane Braxton Little | Valerie Brown | James Bruggers | Jennifer Canine | Murray Carpenter | Tina Casagrand | Mary Chaffee | Rachel Clark | Kristin Clarke | Judith Cline | Charmaine Coimbra | Mary Ann Colihan | Jon Cooksey | Hilary Corrigan | Al Cross | Joyce Cutler | Beth Daley | John Daley | Rebecca Daugherty | Anthony Davis | Elizabeth Devitt | Tamara DiCaprio | Emily Dooley | Karen D'Orazio | Aaron Dorman | Alan Dubner | Misty Edgecomb | Jill Farrow | Daniel Ferber | Daniel Fitzgerald | Barbara Fraser | Reid Frazier | Sarah Frias-Torres | Sharon Friedman | David Funkhouser | Nancy Gaarder | Christy George | John Gibbons | Erica Gies | Rachael Gleason | Daniel Glick | Polita Glynn | Kate Golden | Benjamin Goldfarb | Alexandra Goldstein | Gloria Gonzalez | Harold Gordner | Ann Graham | Sarah Greenberg | Gary Grigsby | Michael Grunwald | Roberto Guerra | Sharon Guynup | Barbara Haig | Kelley Hamrick | Michael Hans | Steve Hansen | Greg Harman | Thomas Hayden | Monica Heger | Peggy Heinkel-Wolfe | Stephen & Miriam Helfgott | Patricia Hemminger | Joy Horowitz | Hyrum Huskey | Antonio Iallonardo | Jack Igelman | Anthony Ingraffea | Bennie Ivory | Ian James | Susan Jewell | Marco Kaltofen | Melody Kemp | Kimberly Kenny | Joanna Knight | Michael Kodas | Lindsey Konkel | Henry B. Lacey | Leia Larsen | David Lawrence | Cat Lazaroff | Stuart Leavenworth | Tom Leonard | Charles Lewis | George Lewis | Judith Lewis Mernit | Hector Llorens Jr. | Randy Loftis | Michael Lohmeyer | Sarah Lowery | Cindy MacDonald | Mark MacIntyre | Laura Mahoney | Richard Mauer | Rebecca Maurio | Barbara Maynard | Thomas McCann | Elizabeth McCarthy | Patricia McKnight | Sheri McWhirter | John Messeder | Olivier Milhomme | Kristy Miller | Maureen Mitra | Fen Montaigne | Sunny Montgomery | Susan Moran | Bernardo Motta | Katherine Murray | Peter Neill | Kristin Ohlson | Jennifer Oladipo | Sharon Oosthoek | Judy Ostrow | Patrick Parenteau | Greg Pasztor | Christiana Peppard | Alison Perkins | Le Huyen Pham | Bruce Potter | Cassandra Profita | Larry Pryor | Dan Rademacher | Jerry Redfern | April Reese | Brian Reil | Nancy Reist | Andrew Restuccia | Anne Rosenthal | Cristine Russell | John Ryan | Molly Samuel | Laura Sayre | Jeanne Scanlon | Karen Schaefer | Thomas Schueneman | James Schwab | Raisa Scriabine | Ron Seely | Nate Seltenrich | Susan Sharon | Kate Sheppard | Kelly Slivka | Hilary Sloane | Lisa Song | Kathryn Sorensen | Miranda Spencer | Ron Steffens | Maura Stephens | Jeffrey Stoub | Dawn Stover | Muriel Strand | Meera Subramanian | Mac Sutherlin | Sheryl Swingley | Judith Sylvester | Sarah Terry-Cobo | Andrea Thompson | John Thompson | Jonathan Thompson | Bijal Trivedi | Christi Turner | Tomasz Ulanowski | Lee van der Voo | Chelsea Wald | Sarah Webb | Christopher Weber | James Werner | Amy Westervelt Girvan | Matthew Wheeland | Tim Wheeler | Clint Wilder | David Williams | Florence Williams | Gary Wilson | Roger Witherspoon | Christine Woodside | William Yardley | Joshua Zaffos | Olga Zilberbourg

Your gift will power future projects of SEJ's Fund for Environmental Journalism 

Make a gift on SEJ's secure website today!