SEJ Funding Sources — Support Hard-Hitting Environmental Journalism



Thank you for

supporting SEJ!





These are important times for environmental journalism. Washington has been taken over by an administration that works to reverse environmental regulations and has been openly hostile to journalists and journalism. We need your support to ensure that the Society of Environmental Journalists can continue its important work supporting hard-hitting environmental reporting. As a nonprofit, we rely on your donations to help us make that work possible. Can you make a gift now? Please give generously and share SEJ's donor link with your followers today: Now more than ever, you make the difference!

Your generous gifts, provided by SEJ founders, members and friends, university hosts of SEJ annual conferences and media company sponsors, support SEJ’s lively network of journalists, students and educators worldwide. You power news-making  conferences, training and tours, publications, awards, story grants and Freedom of Information WatchDog project. Please also consider SEJ in your estate planning.

Environmental coverage is keeping the change. Thank you.


Current and Recent Funding Sources:


SEJ 2021 Gifts from Individuals*


The Todd Family


Denny Wilkins


Christine Nelson


Host and Sponsors of SEJ's 30th Anniversary Conference (Part 2, in Boise, Idaho), June 2-6, 2021


Conference Host



SEJ 2021 Program and Operating Grants



SEJ 2020 Gifts from Individuals*




Sandra McCrory


Jay Letto  |  Mark Schleifstein  |  Kate Sheppard  |  Carolyn Whetzel


Len Ackland  |  Jennifer Bogo  |  Dan Fagin  |  Stuart Leavenworth  |  Greg Pasztor  |  Nancy Rabalais  |  Roger Witherspoon


Emilia Askari  |  Jay Austin  |  Felicity Barringer  |  Margie Bauman  |  Kevin Beaty  |  Jennifer Bogo  |  Jane Braxton Little  |  Chris Bruggers  |  James Bruggers  |  Russell Clemings  |  Michael Crispino  |  Joyce Cutler  |  Katy Daigle  |  Anthony Davis  |  James Detjen  |  Dennis Dimick  |  Breanna Draxler  |  Sara Edelson  |  Judy Fahys  |  Peter Fairley  |  Kathie Florsheim  |  Sharon Friedman  |  Bridget Gallagher  |  Kathryn Gavaghan  |  Christy George  |  Karan Goel  |  Gloria Gonzalez  |  Nancy Grossman  |  Michael Grunwald  |  Mick Hans  |  Karl Hausker  |  Bonita Hay  |  Susan Hess  |  Jane Kay  |  Michael Keating  |  Rocky Kistner  |  Michael Kodas  |  Elizabeth Kolbert  |  Kathiann Kowalski  |  Scott Kravitz  |  Robert Labaree  |  Charles Lewis  |  Jane Lubchenco  |  Cindy MacDonald  |  Bobby Magill  |  John Manuel  |  Hugh McDiarmid  |  Victoria McKinnon  |  Susan Moran  |  Casey Neill  |  Anne B. Paine  |  Daniel Parker  |  Ann Parson  |  Julia Pyper  |  Cristine Russell  |  Benjamin Ryan  |  David Sassoon  |  Craig Saunders  |  Kati Schmidt  |  Sara Shipley Hiles  |  Lori Sinsley  |  Ted Smith  |  Muriel Strand  |  Meera Subramanian  |  John Triplett  |  Chelsea Wald  |  Morris Ward  |  Michael Warren  |  Timothy Wheeler  |  Edward Wolf   |  plus anonymous donors


Elisabeth Abram  |  Terri Anderson  |  Nancy Averett  |  Frances Backhouse  |  Richard Blaustein  |  Ashley Braun  |  Hillary Brown  |  Shannon Brown  |  Allison Burd  |  Siri Carpenter  |  Jonathan Cobb  |  Leslie Comnes  |  Tripp Crouse  |  Joseph Davis  |  Gloria Dickie  |  Benjamin Dills  |  Jenni Doering  |  Victoria Durgin  |  Maria Gallucci  |  Beth Gardiner  |  Melissa Gaskill  |  Justin Gerdes  |  Emily Gertz  |  Virginia Gewin  |  Steve Gibb  |  Adam Glenn  |  Ben Goldfarb  |  Lawrence Grossman  |  Tom Hayden  |  Christine Heinrichs  |  David Helvarg  |  Mary Hoff  |  Don Hopey  |  Susan Jewell  |  Barbara Jones  |  Cheryl Katz  |  Charlotte Kidd  |  Elizabeth Kimbrough  |  Matthew King  |  Chuck Kutscher  |  Laurel Ladwig  |  John Laitner  |  Leonore Lakshmanan  |  Robin Lloyd  |  Randy Loftis  |  Francesca Lyman  |  Christine MacDonald  |  Barbara Maynard  |  Quinn McVeigh  |  Craig Miller  |  Ronald Moir  |  Ian Morse  |  Lela Nargi  |  Jennifer Oldham  |  Sharon Oosthoek  |  Elizabeth Papa  |  Beth Parke  |  Juliet Pinto  |  Helen Prothero  |  Sean Reilly  |  Bruce Ritchie  |  Ry Rivard  |  Anne Rosenthal  |  Sharon and Michael Roth  |  Daniel Rothberg  |  Luke Runyon  |  Dianne Saenz  |  Karen Schaefer  |  David Senatillaka  |  Richard Sima  |  Mark Simon  |  Sarah Spicer  |  Jenny Splitter  |  Ron Steffens  |  Maura Stephens  |  Michael Svoboda  |  Mc Nelly Torres  |  Valerie Vande Panne  |  Lindsay VanSomeren  |  Scott Wallace  |  Christopher Welter  |  Elsa Wenzel  |  Clint Wilder  |  Christine Woodside  |  Lina Zeldovich  |  Katarina Zimmer   |  plus anonymous donors


Host and Sponsors of SEJ's 30th Anniversary Conference (Part 1, Virtual), Sept. 16, 17, 23 and 30, 2020


Conference Host



SEJ 2020 Program and Operating Grants



Past Supporters


*   The list does not include names of those who requested anonymity.


You may support SEJ in its mission — to strengthen the quality, reach and viability of journalism across all media to advance public understanding of environmental issues — by making a tax-deductible donation.




Alternatively, donors with a Donor Advised Fund can initiate a grant recommendation directly from our website.



Programs and operations of the Society of Environmental Journalists are funded by foundation grants in response to SEJ proposals, media company contributions, earned income, university, media company and foundation sponsorship of the annual conference, occasional regional events, individual donations, and unrestricted contributions of general support up to $15,000 from diverse sources.

SEJ does not seek or accept corporate, advocacy group or government sponsorship of the annual conference. Diverse sources participate in SEJ's annual conference as advertisers, exhibitors and hosts of independent hospitality events. These activities do not designate or constitute program sponsorship. All program agenda choices, editorial choices for publications, winner decisions for fellowships, awards and mini-grant winners are made at the sole discretion of SEJ staff and volunteer program leaders, independent of any organizational revenue source, including foundation underwriters, individual donors, advertisers, exhibitors, and university and media company hosts of annual conferences. For more information on policies of the Society of Environmental Journalists, see

Many foundation grants to SEJ are awarded as general support. Grants received by SEJ for specific projects are based on proposals that originate from SEJ's executive director, with guidance from the Board of Directors. Sources of earned income for the organization include conference registration fees, conference exhibitors, IHEs, and advertisement fees, membership dues, mail list rental, and subscription fees.

As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, SEJ files an annual Form 990 with the Internal Revenue Service. The public may also view a copy of the most recent independent audits of SEJ's finances: 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010/2009. In addition, SEJ maintains a current profile on Guidestar and the Charity Directory (formerly, Foundation Source Access).