DEADLINE: AGU Science Journalism Awards

Event Date: 
April 12, 2023

The American Geophysical Union offers three science journalism awards:

David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism - News recognizes excellence in Earth and space science news reporting, generally produced under deadline pressure of one week or less.

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism - Features recognizes excellence in Earth and space science feature reporting, generally produced under a deadline of longer than one week.

Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism recognizes a journalist or team of journalists who have, over a period of at least 15 years, made significant, lasting, outstanding and consistent contributions to Earth and space science journalism for the general public, including reporting, writing, editing or producing. (This award is given bi-yearly; last awarded in 2021.)

The Perlman and Sullivan awards each honor specific stories reported by journalists in the past year (i.e., 2023 awards honor 2022 stories). Journalists are welcome to nominate their own work for these awards, or someone may nominate a story on the reporter’s behalf.

Every other year, the Cowen Award celebrates a career of outstanding reporting on Earth and space sciences. Self-nominations are allowed, or someone may nominate a journalist for the award.

Awardees for each award receive $5,000, a plaque, recognition in AGU’s Eos and $1,000 in reimbursed costs to attend AGU’s Fall Meeting in 2023.

Nominations are due Apr 12, 2023. Click here to submit a nomination.

Questions? Please email Hope or Rebecca at

Event Details