Problems with EPA Press Office? Try Calling Public Affairs Director

May 8, 2013

SEJ members have complained a lot over many years about difficulties getting information and interviews from US EPA. SEJ officers and FOI watchdogs have talked to EPA about the problems for a long time, too. Here's a new suggestion for cutting through the fog: call the public affairs director.

Each EPA regional office has its own public affairs director, and they can be contacted via the numbers and emails in the list below. If a regular call to a line press officer brings poor results, try explaining your problem to the boss:

US EPA PUBLIC AFFAIRS DIRECTORS
Region 1:    Nancy Grantham (PAD)   (617) 918-1101   grantham.nancy@epa.gov
Region 2:    Bonnie Bellow (PAD)    (212) 637-3659   bellow.bonnie@epa.gov
Region 3:    Terri White (Acting PAD)   (215) 814-5523   white.terri-a@epa.gov
Region 4:    Larry Lincoln (PAD)   (404) 562-8304   lincoln.larry@epa.gov
Region 5:    Elissa Speizman (PAD)   (312) 353-2073   speizman.elissa@epa.gov
Region 6:    David Gray (PAD)   (214) 665-8120   gray.david@epa.gov
Region 7:    Rich Hood (PAD)   (913) 551-7906   hood.rich@epa.gov
Region 8:    Paula Smith (PAD)   (303) 312-6630   smith.paula@epa.gov
Region 9:    Kelly Zito (PAD)   (415) 947-4306   zito.kelly@epa.gov
  Region 10:    Marianne Holsman (PAD)   (206) 553-1237   holsman.marianne@epa.gov

 

You can find further information about press contacts for EPA here.