2010 David Stolberg Meritorious Service Award Winner

2010 Stolberg award winner Elizabeth Bluemink. © Photo by Kate Lutz.
Elizabeth Bluemink is the 2010 recipient of SEJ's David Stolberg Meritorious Service Award.

"Volunteers are the heart and soul of SEJ," Carolyn Whetzel, programs chair, said in presenting the award October 13, 2010 at the organization's 20th Annual Conference in Missoula, Montana. "This conference would not be possible without the dozens of volunteers who organize and lead the tours and panels. The awards, the SEJournal, mentor program, all rely on our member volunteers."

Elizabeth, who covers environment and business at the Anchorage Daily News, is a long-time SEJ member and dedicated volunteer.

She has worked quietly behind the scenes doing great work on SEJ's Freedom of Information Task Force and as the long-time editor of the SEJournal book review section.

"It's a pain to get one person to write one thing" for the journal, according to one of the SEJournal's section editors. The Bookshelf editor "has to hound two or three writers" every quarter and Elizabeth does, he said.

Elizabeth also has served as a panelist at conferences and as a judge for the 2008 SEJ awards contest.

Five years ago, she helped pulled together a final report on a project that examined the challenges environmental reporters face in getting FOIA requests answered — a project that eventually led to the creation of SEJ's First Amendment Task Force.

More recently, Elizabeth participated in SEJ's 2009 Leadership Development Retreat where she helped update the organization's strategic plan and chart a path for SEJ's future.

Elizabeth is very deserving of the Stolberg award.

Back to main Stolberg award page.