DEADLINE: Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards

Event Date: 
June 1, 2021

The first annual Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards will honor exemplary coverage of the defining story of our time. Submissions of journalism that was published or broadcast in 2020 anywhere in the world will be accepted through June 1, 2021.

Winning entries will feature great storytelling that – among other strengths – is rooted in science, humanizes climate change, empowers audiences and holds power to account. The jurors will recognize work that communicates the many dimensions of the challenge; that highlights and scrutinizes solutions; that calls out disinformation and self-dealing; and that recognizes the disproportionate impacts that climate change has on communities of color and the poor.

Entries (in English) will be accepted from news organizations or individual journalists from every corner of the newsroom who are producing coverage in print, digital, audio, video, and multimedia formats that report on all dimensions of the climate emergency, especially its solutions.

There is no entry fee, and more than one entry may be submitted.

Covering Climate Now and the Columbia Journalism Review will convene a jury of distinguished journalists to review the entries. Winners will be notified individually this summer and all winners will be publicly celebrated at a globally-accessible awards ceremony in September hosted by Al Roker, TODAY weather and feature anchor and co-host of the 3rd Hour of TODAY and Savannah Sellers, correspondent for NBC News and MSNBC, co-anchor of NBC News NOW and co-host of NBC News’ Stay Tuned program.

More information here.

Read the awards announcement and for questions about the entry process, please be in touch with us at:

Submit hereDeadline: June 1, 2021

Event Details