Conservative Ire Rains on 8 'Aye' Republicans

"In the wake of last week's landmark passage of the House climate bill, conservatives have focused their fury on the handful of Republicans who voted in favor of the sweeping legislation.

Conservative commentators are blasting the eight Republican 'aye' votes as betrayers of GOP principles and, perhaps more important, holding them accountable for the bill's seven-vote margin of passage, 219-212.

The eight Republicans are Mark Kirk of Illinois; Mike Castle of Delaware; Mary Bono Mack of California; Dave Reichert of Washington; John McHugh of New York; and Frank LoBiondo, Leonard Lance and Chris Smith of New Jersey."

Alex Kaplun reports for Greenwire in the New York Times June 30, 2009.

See Also:

"'Green Jobs' Pitch Swayed Just Enough Coal-State Lawmakers to Vote for Climate Bill" (Greenwire)

"And Now, Climate Bill's Supporters Try Counting to 60 in Senate" (Greenwire)

"Can Farm Groups Kill the Climate Bill?" (ClimateWire)

"As House Climate Bill Passes, GOP Parties Like It's 1993" (Greenwire)

Source: NYTimes, 07/01/2009