"Which Anti-Science Rep. Will Chair the Science Committee?"

"The race is on for the next chairman of the House Science, Space, and Technology Committee--and no matter who wins, he won't be a big fan of science."

"So far, three men have announced that they would like to take over for Rep. Ralph Hall (R-Texas), who is stepping down because House rules limit representatives to 6 years as chairman. Hall was certainly no champion of science, telling National Journal last year that he doesn't think humans are having a significant impact on the climate because, 'I don't think we can control what God controls.' He also said he was 'really more fearful of freezing,' and that he thinks climate scientists dreamed up the whole 'warming' thing to make money.

But the would-be new chairs aren't much better. So far, Dana Rohrabacher (R-Calif.), Lamar Smith (R-Texas), and James Sensenbrenner Jr. (R-Wisc.) have all announced that they would like to take over, Science reports."

Kate Sheppard reports for Mother Jones November 13, 2012.

Source: Mother Jones, 11/14/2012