January 31, 2011

DEADLINE: 2010 National Journalism Awards

The Scripps Howard Foundation's 2010 National Journalism Awards offers $10,000-15,000 prizes in 18 categories, including one for Environmental Reporting; January 31, 2011 deadline.



April 5, 2013

DEADLINE: Knight News Challenge

This News Challenge is an opportunity to accelerate promising ideas and trends. Through this contest, we hope to help extend the spirit of open gov and to catalyze partnerships between hackers, civic innovators, governments, journalists and others. Closes April 5th.

December 9, 2010

DEADLINE: Fund for Investigative Journalism

The Fund is accepting applications for its next grant cycle, by the December 9 deadline. There's a special call for projects focusing on environmental and governmental accountability issues as a result of a generous grant from the Parks Foundation in Ithaca New York.

October 22, 2010

DEADLINE: Watchdog Fund, Florida Center for Investigative Reporting

The FCIR Watchdog Fund is particularly interested in funding projects dealing with government corruption, waste and inefficiency; immigration; environment; education; and social justice. Proposals will be accepted until the extended deadline of Oct. 22, 2010.

April 14, 2011 to April 17, 2011

Health Journalism 2011

Local and national planning committees have begun gathering conference ideas for review. Plans include dozens of panels, field trips, newsmaker briefings, Freelance Pitchfest, world-class speakers, 2010 Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism luncheon and more. To suggest sessions or speakers for the conference, you can fill out a conference suggestion form.

August 31, 2010

DEADLINE: Ocean Conservation Photo Contest

In recognition of the United Nations declaring 2010 the International Year of Biodiversity, Project AWARE Foundation and SeaWeb's Marine Photobank are calling for entries for the third "Ocean in Focus" Conservation Photography Contest that feature species in need of protection, the human impacts upon them and their environments, and the importance of conserving biodiversity.

October 12, 2014

DEADLINE: Population Institute Global Media Awards

Awards in 12 categories recognize excellence in conveying awareness of population problems and their relationship to resources and environment. Deadline: Oct 12, 2014.

August 30, 2010

DEADLINE: Biodiversity Reporting Award

2010 deadlines for participating countries are Bolivia (July 31); Brazil (April 26); Brazil — TV category (April 26); Columbia (August 18); and Madagascar (August 30). First place winners from Latin American countries receive an all expenses paid trip to an international environmental journalist conference.

May 19, 2010

2010 National Wetlands Awards

Senator Benjamin Cardin (MD) will deliver the keynote address at the 2010 National Wetlands Award ceremony to be held on May 19 on Capitol Hill. In addition U.S. EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson will be on hand to present one of the six awards.

September 21, 2009

Editor and Publisher's Photos of the Year Contest

Submit your best newspaper print or online photos published since September 13, 2008, for a chance to win $1,000 and appear on the cover of E&P. Extended deadline: September 21, 2009.


Subscribe to RSS - Awards