June 30, 2014

DEADLINE: Evert Clark / Seth Payne Award for Young Science Writers

The Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award recognizes outstanding reporting and writing in any field of science by science writers age 30 or younger. Articles published in newspapers, magazines, newsletters, online only publications and websites are eligible. Win cash and expenses-paid trip to NASW/CASW annual meeting. All entries and submissions must be received by June 30, 2014.

March 15, 2013

DEADLINE: Canadian Science Writers' Association Science in Society Journalism Awards

CSWA honors outstanding contributions to Canadian journalism with cash prizes of $1,000, and also administers other awards programs, including the Herb Lampert Emerging Journalist Award. Deadline for both is March 15th.

April 1, 2014


The Native American Journalists Association annually celebrates the quality and professional work done by Native journalists. Deadline: March 15th.

April 10, 2015

DEADLINE: NABJ's Salute to Excellence National Media Awards

NABJ awards prizes for journalism that best covers the black experience or addresses issues affecting the worldwide black community. Deadline: Apr 10, 2015.

February 1, 2015

DEADLINE: Livingston Awards for Young Journalists

The Livingston Awards, for excellence by professionals under the age of 35, judge print, broadcast and online entries against one another, a practice of increasing interest as technology blurs traditional distinctions between rival branches of the profession. Three $10,000 prizes. Deadline is February 1, 2015.

February 24, 2011

DEADLINE: Harry Chapin Media Awards

Awards are given for outstanding coverage that positively impacts the critical issues of hunger, poverty and self-reliance. Enter by February 24, 2011 deadline.

February 10, 2011

DEADLINE: Canadian Association of Journalists Annual Awards

CAJ recognizes outstanding Canadian reporting with cash prizes in more than a dozen categories, including investigative journalism and photojournalism. Deadline to enter is February 10, 2011.

January 30, 2015

DEADLINE: Overseas Press Club of America Awards

Honors several classes of foreign affairs reporting with certificates and $1,000 awards. $200 entry fee applies. Details and application to download are available at website. Entry fees apply. Deadline: January 30, 2015.

February 10, 2015

DEADLINE: Scripps Howard Awards

The awards include several categories of interest to environmental journalists, including the Meeman Award for Environmental Reporting. Cash awards total $180,000 in 17 categories. $50 entry fee. Deadline: February 10, 2015.

April 15, 2014

DEADLINE: AGU Perlman and Sullivan Awards

Sponsored by the American Geophysical Union, these awards recognize excellence in feature and news reporting that enhances public awareness and understanding of the sciences encompassed by AGU: the study of the Earth, Sun, solar system, and their environments and components. Deadline: April 15th.


Subscribe to RSS - Awards